Embezzle to 401(k) plan

sla

Payroll person uses/embezzles employer funds to pay her 401(k) loan. Terminates employment, receives her full vested distribution from the plan. Since embezzled money was deposited to the plan on her behalf, then distributed to her from the plan. Employer has discovered this issue recently in 2015, transactions occurred 2013 & 2014. What is the responsibility of the plan? Or is this an internal employer issue?

I am not a lawyer, but I cannot imagine that the plan has any responsibility to check the provenance of money used to repay a plan loan. As far as I can tell, without further suspicious circumstances, it sounds as though the plan has done everything right.

Clearly, the former payroll person is the one who owes the employer money. Threat of prosecution might be enough to get the perpetrator to agree to a suitable program of restitution.

Always check with your actuary first!

Unless I misunderstand the original post, the plan did not suffer any losses due to embezzlement, so the bonding company would not have any liability. Absent knowledge by the plan that the repayments were not legitimate, the plan cannot be considered liable to the employer for the employer's losses, could it?

This doesn't even come down to a question of the plan taking money from the participant's account to repay the employer for those losses. That money is gone. What possible justification can there be for the other participants suffering any penalty at all to make the employer whole? The employer cannot legitimately withhold amounts that would be payable to the accounts of the innocent parties as matching funds.

Always check with your actuary first!

There have been a few prior discussions on the topic of (or similar to) embezzlement. As I recall, at least one of them had a reasonable suggestion. Try using the Search function. Suggested key words include embezzle, embezzlement, embezzled, theft, etc.