Largest Estate Issues Facing DB and/or DC Plan Participants/Owners?

Guest Ryder

I am a DC/DB business analyst, and have several clients who are clamoring for estate help, as their sales representatives are not offering much help in this arena. What would you say are the biggest estate challenges and issues with owners of and participants in db/dc plans?Thanks!

Estate planning for retirement benefits can be quite complicated, and your clients should be getting their legal advice from competent counsel, not "sales representatives."

I think that among the biggest challenges and issues are Roth conversions for large retirement benefits, and what to do when the client does not have sufficient nonretirement assets to fully fund the credit shelter trust.

Bruce Steiner, attorney

(212) 986-6000

also admitted in NJ and FL

Guest Ryder

I agree with you about sales reps. The quickest way for me to lose a case is via the Plan's sales rep.

I am a dc/db pensions analyst/consultant/manager, and I obviously understand the ramifications of the strategic naming of beneficiaries, as well as carefully-crafted plan documents as they relate to estate planning (i.e., some documents don't allow for stretch IRA's, etc.).

I realize that this should ideally be the realm of accountants and tax lawyers -- however, it's extremely important for the pensions consultant to have this knowledge in her toolbox as well.

I know that neither my CEBS nor my ASPA desig's have imbued me w/ the info I believe I need to adequately service my clients in the areas of estate planning; however, their accountants seem to know less than me. I imagine that I will study and get extra estate planning designations, whatever those may be, so that I can competently enter this arena.

Even w/ the new Congressional stuff going on, I feel estate tax minimization will continue to be a big deal for most

of the individuals I deal with.