new to Roth IRA ... where to start

Guest pastrami

Guest pastrami

I apologize for the simple questions, hopefully one of you guys can help me out.

I'm new to Roth IRA and after reading some of the material on your website, I'm very interested in starting a RothIRA acct.

My question is, does it matter where I start the account? Is there a place that is more preferrable than another? I have a 401k acct with fidelity benefits, should I check with them?

thanks in advance! p

The biggest, most reliable, and best-rated mutual fund families are:

Fidelity

TIAA-CREF

T. Rowe Price

Vanguard

It simplifies things somewhat if you stick within the same fund family. Fidelity is a good choice for a one-stop financial keeper, because of the huge variety of what it offers. It also allows you to invest in other fund families through its fund family network. You can invest in many other non-Fidelity fund families through Fidelity without an additional fee from Fidelity.

You will want to consider the cost of maintaining a Roth IRA, mutual fund expense ratios and costs, long-term performance, competence and history of fund managers, and so-on and so-forth in deciding. Vanguard, though giving less choice thatn Fidelity, offers lower expenses (Fidelity's expenses are still low, by industry standards).

There are some benefits to having accounts in more than one fund family. For one thing, you get advice from both investment companies.

• 4 weeks later...
Guest pastrami

thanks for the reply - sorry for the late response, been totally swap with work.

If I do pick Fidelity, solely based on that fact that my 401k is there. Is there any particular mutual fund within Fiedelity that I should put my money in? Do I merely start a rothIRA acct. with Fidelity and they tell them I want all money money invested in a medium risk fund. Is that wise?