Government Employee Leasing

Guest Ralph Amadio

Guest Ralph Amadio

A client is contemplating a "leased employee" arrangement with a private sector firm. Question: What impact will the plethora of cases like Microsoft have on a State or Local Government? The leasing company is covered by ERISA and the Government Agency (a city) is not. State statute does not contemplate these arrangements. Any ideas, or sources of information?

• 2 weeks later...

My personal advice? Don't even go there! (Needless to say, as a lawyer, I have to explain that this is only personal advice, not legal advice. smile.gif )

The problem is that the determination of whether these people are governmental employees is governed not by the terms of the contracts with the leasing agency, but by the traditional 20-factor test as interpreted by cases such as Microsoft. Since these tests are as clear as mud, you may well discover that the employees argue that they are employees of either the government agency or the leasing company, whichever happens to be the most favorable to them at any particular point in time. And since the issue is determined on an employee-by-employee basis, even if you are successful in litigation with one employee, the next one can still come along and argue the same issues.

Some examples: suppose you decide that as leased employees, these individuals are not covered by a state retirement system which would have covered them had they been employees of the entity which leases them. Given that the state statute does not contemplate leased employees, the statute presumably includes some general language to the effect that "employees" in certain categories are covered. A leased employee could argue that even though the contract with the leasing agency says s/he is employed by the leasing agency rather than by any governmental entity, s/he is actually a common-law employee of the governmental entity, and is therefore covered under the state retirement system.