HIPAA - Disclosure of PHI to subscriber spouse, but not to dependent member.

Guest dragonflier

Guest dragonflier

:blink: I have medical coverage through my spouse's employer - the carrier is CIGNA. I tried to log on to their MyCigna.com website using my identifying information and was unable to get any information about my claims, etc.. When I called for tech support, I was told to have my spouse register for the site, and then he would have access to my information.

My understanding is that since I am an adult, he can not have access to that information with my authorization. I believe that he should have access to our child's information as his dependent.

Am I mistaken?

I'm no expert on this but my impression is that you are probably mistaken. Unless your state laws give you additional rights or unless CIGNA's privacy policy affords you additional privacy rights other than what is generally required, there is probably not a law forbidding this. My understanding of how these things "normally" work is that the "policy holder" (your husband) will generally have access to his own claims information, as well as that of all who are insured through him. In other words, not just "dependent children" but also covered spouse. Of course, you can probably utilize CIGNA's procedures to request additional privacy protection for your claims information, if you so desire. But unless you do so, since your husband has the contract with his employer and is paying the premium and is responsible for the medical bills pursuant to that health plan, the theory goes that he should have access to information explaining what he is paying/has paid for (and the insurance company or his employer has paid for on his behalf).