What is a DOL certification for an ERISA plan?

Guest Cgross

Guest Cgross

We're working on a subrogation case and the personal injury attorney who is representing the participant has asked for:

"certification from the US Secretary of Labor that our self-funded plan is

an approved ERISA plan".

I'm new to this process but can't find any reference in the ERISA regs that a certification is actually given by the DOL, just requirements for the plan to submit information and filings.

Can anyone shed light on this?

Thanks!

This sounds like something from back when plans were required to file plan documents with DOL. Ask the requestor for the authority for the request. We deal with a lot of plaintiff attorneys. They are not always correct in what they ask for. By the way, what type of authorization did they provide you with on behalf of their client?

Guest Cgross

We are the health plan, and we require the attorney to supply a signed authorization from the member for the release of any PHI related to the inquiry. Is this the type authorization to which you refer?

(I really appreciate your help on this...)

He or she is trying to find out if it's an "ERISA plan" because that will determine how he or she needs to deal with the plan. Had a local personal injury attorney tell me that that was a hot sub-area now related to PI work....whether a plan was an ERISA plan or not....b/c if it was then there were extra hoops to jump through, etc..... The local PI attorney said he knows of attorneys in the DC area who have specialized in reviewing plan documents/materials to help PI attorneys determine if a particular plan is governed by ERISA or not.

Doesn't really help as to the specifics but adds some background as to the nature of the request.....

Guest Cgross

We're in NC which would not allow subrogation if it were a fully insured plan.