Sign in to follow this  
Guest sue1jeff

tpa owner suing employee

Guest sue1jeff

i use to own a tpa firm. recently the tpa firm was sue by a client due to the negligent work of an employee. ( i am still on the hook for the lawsuit) is there any way I can sue my ex employee?

Although I am not a lawyer, I would doubt very much that you could sue an ex-employee for work done while they were an employee. However, you might very well be able sue the employer of that employee. After all, isn't the principal responsible for the action of its agents? It might not be a practical solution but at least you get to sue.

If you could sue the ex-employee, What would you hope to recover anyway? The most that you might recover would be your costs and losses associated with the client lawsuit, but that is covered by the insurance that you carry anyhow. Since you most likely cannot collect from both, there seems to be very little that could be recovered from the ex-employee, if you could sue.

How about suing the General Liability and E&O (or Fiduciary Liability) carrier instead?

GBurns, perhaps I misunderstood the original post but I think sue1jeff was the employer of the employee they would like to sue and it seems you are suggesting sue1jeff sue themselves as the employer?

I do agree that if the tpa firm had the general liability and E&O insurance that this should be used to reimburse the client for the neglegence of the former employee.

Since sue1jeff so desperately feels the need to sue, that the obvious recourse to their insurance carrier did not arise, I suggested the other just as obvious thing, Sue Yourself!!

It is amusing that an employer does not understand that they have the responsibility to supervise the work of all their employees. Why do they think that they get to be the Boss, make the rules and keep any profit?