School Dilemma

Guest Distribution Diva

Guest Distribution Diva

I read this board a lot, though I've only posted once or twice. I'm looking for a little objective advice/criticism and the posters here seem to have varied types and amounts of experience.

Here's my background:

I have three years of experience in the retirement field (TPA, specifically). I work for a small TPA and I've pretty much done "a little bit of everything". I hold a couple of ASPPA designations. As much as I hate to admit it, I really do enjoy working in the field and would like to continue to do so. I specifically enjoy the compliance and plan design aspects and would be thrilled if I never had to process another distribution (wouldn't we all?).

I work full-time and have no intention of working less than full time. My employer is *somewhat* flexible, but not infinitely so. I can vary my schedule by an hour or so either way, but it is substantially an 8-to-5 job.

And now we've come to my dilemma:

I will shortly complete my two-year degree and transfer to a four-year university. I am considering two options. Option 1 is a major in accounting. Option two is simply a BS in Business Administration (possibly with an economics minor). The accounting degree program is at a local state school. All of my classes would be in the evenings (no weekend options) and it will take me about 6 million years to complete my degree (OK, 3-4 years, actually). The BS in Business Admin program is a distance learning program from a very well known accredited state school (NOT some fly-by-night-get-your-degree-in-eight-weeks kind of place). I can finish within 2 years, since all of the classes are online.