ERISA and reduction in benefits

Guest Simon self funded

Guest Simon self funded

Hello. I've been reading the posts here for awhile but haven't seen

this addressed.

We have a self funded plan that is subject to ERISA. Our plan document allows the plan administrator to amend the plan from time to time as necessary.

1. Can these changes only be made at renewal?

2. What prohibits a plan from making a plan change that would target a specific employee? For example an employee needs a type of organ transplant and the plan administrator amends the plan to not cover this type transplant. All I can find is that the employees must be notified within 60 days of such a change. Is there a law that prohibits an employer (plan administrator) from doing this?

Thank you.

A cynic would say that you are conspiring to withhold benefits provided under the plan in an attempt to discriminate against a disabled person.

I am not a lawyer, so my comments are not intended to get you into trouble. However, this is a public forum, and your comments are not protected communications nor deliberations.

The DOL regulations state any plan amendment must apply to all individuals, and made effective no earlier than the first day of the first plan year after the amendment isadopted. If donein this manner, this is not to be considered to be directed at individual participants and beneficiaries.

Don Levit

Guest Simon self funded

Whoa... I think my comments were misconstrued.

I'm the cynic and wondered what protections a participant had if something like this happened. I know insured plans are very heavily regulated by the state departments of insurance, and I know they are usually consumer friendly. It just doesn't seem like employees under a self funded plans have much protection.

Whether self insured or fully insured, the plan sponsor has the right once a year to amend the plan. Health plans are voluntary - they can be established, modified, or terminated, at the sponsor's discretion.