Discriminatory Tuition Assistance Plans?

Guest awilde

Our firm would like to provide tuition assistance to one of our employees. He is currently in an MBA program, and we are willing to reimburse his tuition up to $5,250/year:

1. Do we need a formal tuition reimbursement policy/procedure?

2. Can we just accomodate this one individual or do we have to offer this benefit to all employees? Can we discriminate based on what or where an individual is studying? For example, none of our other staff is in an MBA program.

Thanks in advance for any insight...

Guest gdburns

I am also not an expert on this either.

It seems to me that having a formal policy on this issue would be an overkill and probably cost too much. So the bonus idea from JanetM seems a good idea. Nothing says that bonuses have to be equal to all employees. A bonus for a particular achievement does not have to be given to anyone else who has not accomplished the same thing. In this case I see no problem rewarding this single employee for getting the MBA. Nothing else needs to be said about where etc and you do not have to do it for a subsequent employee.

Remember to gross up to cover the taxes and FICA.

Guest Harry O

If the MBA qualifies as job-related education (that is, maintains or improves skills required for current job), reimbursement can be made without a written plan and no taxes are payable by the employee or employer. This is because the payment will qualify as a nontaxable working condition fringe benefit under section 132. WARNING: MBAs are notoriously tricky to qualify as job-related. If the employee is currently in a management/finance/administrative position, your chances are better. If the employee is an "individual contributor" or non-managment staff employee, it is hard to justify how the MBA enhances skills required by his or her CURRENT job.

The bottom line is that if the MBA is job-related, no need for plan document and no need for tax gross up.

• 3 years later...