custodian vs trustee

Guest thill

hi everyone. just as a way of background, i work for a TPA that specializes in 457(e)(11) plans for volunteer firefighters. i have a math degree and have been mainly involved in the record keeping aspects but am getting more and more involved in the trust arrangements and the ideas of "trustee" and "custodian".

i don't have any formal schooling on these topics so i was wondering if i could be pointed to a site or information on what the technical/legal difference is between a custodian and trustee, as the terms seem to be used interchangeably but i'm sure they shouldn’t be.

thanks--hope i'm posting this in the right forum...........

in a nutshell...

Custodian means they only hold the funds.

Trustee means they are taking a fiduciary responsibility regarding the plan.

you may want to see if your firm has a Pension Answer book or ERISA Outline book. See the definition of trustee or fiduciary.

Either way (custodian/trustee) there should be some sort of agreement between the plan sponsor and custodian/trustee on their duties (hopefully!)

A trust is a separate legal entity, separate from the beneficiary(ies). The trustee is the "legal" owner of the assets held in the trust and the beneficiary(ies) is(are) the beneficial owner(s).

A custodial account is simply a contractual relationship whereby one person - the custodian - holds assets which are legally and beneficially owned by another person; the custodial account is not a separate entity.

Of course, in the world of qualified plans and IRAs this distinction is largely meaningless.

THANKS!