How often do creditors take 457b plan assets?

Guest hannahdog

Guest hannahdog

Although I used to work in the 'ee benefits field (which is how I know about these message boards), right now I am just acting as a private individual trying to decide whether and how much to invest in the 457(b) plan [or is it a 457(f) plan? -- I can't tell from my statements!] of my current employer-- a 501©(3) hospital -- after maxing out its 403(b). I understand that, for the plan to qualify under 457(b) or (f), the assets MUST be subject to the hospital's creditors should the hospital become insolvent.

My question is whether anyone has ever known an ACTUAL case where creditors tapped a non-profit's 457 plan assets? (In actuality or theoretically, does or would the 457(b) or 457(f) designation make any difference in this respect?)

I know there are no guarantees (by definition, in order to get the tax deferral!), but I'm trying to ascertain the realistic probability of my deferrals being taken by future creditors (in the event of 'er bankruptcy), based on past and present 457 plan experiences during employer bankruptcy.

I've looked online at other sources and just can't seem to find the answer to my question. I hope you can help. Thanks in advance.

If you are deciding how much "to invest," you hope it is a 457(b) plan. The informal postion of the IRS is disbelief that anyone would subject good money to a substantial risk of forfeiture. Exposure to creditors of the employer is an entirely different matter and is not considered to be a substantial risk of forfeiture. That, in turn, is not a comment on your risk of employer bankruptcy.

Guest hannahdog

Yes, thanks for the reply: my HR dept says it is indeed a 457(b). Has anyone ever heard of a non-profit plan's 457(b) assets actually being ever taken by creditors?