Sign in to follow this  
Guest soldout

Change of Salary after Acquisition

Guest soldout

Hi,

This may be out of topic, if so please let me know and I will post in the appropriate section.

I am an officer in a company that was acquired. My current employment contract specifies my current title, salary, and a special acquisition provision: If I am terminated without cause within one year of an acquisition, I will receive 1 year's salary. The acquisition has occurred.

Here is my question:

- The acquiring company is asking me to take a pay cut and have me sign a new contract. If I do not sign a new contract and they reduce my salary never the less, does this constitute a termination? My current contract does not include wording that allows the company to change the terms of the contract - other than employment is at will.

Thanks in Advance

I am no lawyer, but if I were you, I would be seeking the advice of a competent employment/labor lawyer. asap.

First, see GBurn's comment.

If I do not sign a new contract and they reduce my salary never the less, does this constitute a termination? My current contract does not include wording that allows the company to change the terms of the contract - other than employment is at will.

If they reduce the salary never the less, then it's a breach of contract. It may require legal action to then gain the result of it being a termination. The real question is how do you respond to a reduction, and that should be to immediately follow GBurn's comment if you haven't already by that time.

Guest Harry O