Sign in to follow this  
Guest s_ben

990 Requirements for VEBA

Guest s_ben

Hello. I am new to VEBA's so if you can please bear with me...

1. Are there different codes to exclude the interest income, dividend income, gains/(losses) but the income is still not taxable - it doens't seem like it is excluded under Section 512? VEBA's do not have to pay tax on this do they? If they do, how do they report it?

2. You are supposed to report the information from all of the plans, correct - so each 5500 that is filed?

Thank you very much!

Are there different codes to exclude the interest income, dividend income, gains/(losses)

Take a look at exclusion codes 25, 26, and 27.

The usual passive income exclusion codes (14-18) refer to specific provisions of I.R.C. Sec. 512(b). Althought most types of exempt organizations use these codes to exclude their passive income from federal taxation, Sec. 512(b) doesn't apply to a VEBA. Thus, those very familiar codes should never appear on a VEBA's Form 990.

You are supposed to report the information from all of the plans, correct - so each 5500 that is filed?

A plan files Form 5500; an exempt organization files Form 990. A VEBA is a trust (or, occasionally, a corporation) that's tax-exempt within the meaning of I.R.C. Sec. 501©(9). Form 990 reports the information for the exempt organization that's filing the return.

VEBA's do not have to pay tax on this do they?

Maybe, maybe not. VEBA's are subject to special rules. In general, a VEBA's unrelated business taxable income is any net income other than exempt function income (fees and contributions for providing benefits). But, there are numerous variations and exceptions to this general rule. The complex answer begins with I.R.C. Sec. 419A, and it's beyond the scope of this discussion.

If they do, how do they report it?

Form 990-T, Schedule G. You might find it helpful to read page 22 of the 2007 Form 990-T instructions.