Profit Sharing, employee vs. employer contribution?

Guest oppy

I am a salaried physician in a small group practice. After 1 1/2 years of employment I am now eligible to

participate in a Profit Sharing plan. If I were to participate, my monthly check would be reduced (?15%). My employer would contribute by this amount to the plan only at the end of the plan year. There is no "matching".

There is a 7 year vesting schedule.

My employment contract defines my annual "total compensation" as $xx,000 = salary + profit sharing.

Employer (& his accountant) state that despite my salary being reduced, it is an employer contribution, and that ERISA 29 CFR 2510 doesn't apply.

Is this profit sharing plan method allowable?

Is it truly an employer contribution despite my paycheck reduction?

If I participate, am I giving up the right to 15% of my annual compensation - i.e. forfeited were I to terminate

(or be terminated) prior to 100% vesting.

Please help.

Thanks, Oppy.

Guest EDSAADE

Oppy:

You seem to be describing an arrangement under IRC 414(h)(2),governmental plan sponsor, where a contribution designated as an "employee contribution" under the plan will be treated as an employer contribution.("pick-up" plan)

In order to qualify as a"pick-up" contribution, (i)the employer must specify that the contributions, although designated as employee contributions, are being paid by the employer in lieu of contributions by the employee; and (ii) the employee must "not" be given the option of salary reduction. Pick-up contributions are not taxable to the employee until distributed.

Guest psalemme