How can I change the effective date of plan

ERISA13

I am setting up a new plan that we originally were going to use 10/01/08 as the effective date. Since the employer currently maintains a SIMPLE IRA for 2008 we need to change the effective date to 01/01/2009. The plan docs have already been processed with the 10/01/08 date. No contributions have been accepted or anything I just need to change the effective date. I have looked for an amendment form to make the change but have not had any luck.

I would appreciate any guidance. I'm new at this. Thanks!

If all you have is signed plan, toss it and start over. If you have set up trust and have trust agreement and all that stuff you will need to recind those in writing too.

JanetM CPA, MBA

Before you toss the old one, was there a 401k safe harbor notice provided for 2008 promising company contribution equal to 3%-of-pay for 2008?

By processed, does that mean the plan documents with the 10/1/08 date were signed?

John Simmons

johnsimmonslaw@gmail.com

Note to Readers: For you, I'm a stranger posting on a bulletin board. Posts here should not be given the same weight as personalized advice from a professional who knows or can learn all the facts of your situation.

If you have set up trust and have trust agreement and all that stuff you will need to recind those in writing too.

Hi Janet,

I'm curious why you recommend scrapping the trust. It's not unusual for the tax-exempt organization to be created long before the plan takes effect and becomes operational, or for it to retain legal existence after the plan has terminated.

Please understand that I'm not disagreeing with you. You might have some information that I lack, and I'll benefit by learning from you.

Best regards,

Lori

Lori Friedman