Requirements for Premium Only Plan?

Guest ANON-MD

Guest ANON-MD

I am new to benefits administration, so I apologize in advance for my ignorance. We are a small company with only 80 poeple and I am fairly certain that we have some shortcomings when it comes to "plan documents" and employee communication. I am in the process of cleaning this area and have a few questions.

- Do I need an SPD for a POP and can I do my own year end testing? IF yes on the testing, what do I need to do?

As I research the requirements regarding Sect. 125 and Preimum Only Plans, I've been getting different answers. I've had some say that I need a plan document for a POP. I've had others tell me no plan doc is needed because it is for tax savings only. Which is it? Our company has also has an FSA (both medical and dependent care), so I believe my year end testing might be different than if I simply had POP. Can someome please help me deteremine what I need to have in order to be in compliance?

Thanks.

I am new to benefits administration, so I apologize in advance for my ignorance. We are a small company with only 80 poeple and I am fairly certain that we have some shortcomings when it comes to "plan documents" and employee communication. I am in the process of cleaning this area and have a few questions.

- Do I need an SPD for a POP and can I do my own year end testing? IF yes on the testing, what do I need to do?

Yes, you need an SPD for a POP for your small company.

If you know how to do the testing, you can do it.

As I research the requirements regarding Sect. 125 and Preimum Only Plans, I've been getting different answers. I've had some say that I need a plan document for a POP. I've had others tell me no plan doc is needed because it is for tax savings only. Which is it?