Governmental Plan Funding Question

Guest ERISAQUEEN

Guest ERISAQUEEN

Please advise if you are familiar with any state or local law that imposes pension funding requirements on a state or city and the basis for the requirement (e.g. statute, ordinance, or case law).

You might have to do your own research, but Carol Calhoun has posted some of hers.

http://benefitsattorney.com/index.php

I'm a retirement actuary. Nothing about my comments is intended or should be construed as investment, tax, legal or accounting advice. Occasionally, but not all the time, it might be reasonable to interpret my comments as actuarial or consulting advice.

Not being a lawyer, I would think that there could be no applicable case law compelling any specific level of funding unless there were a statute, ordinance, or plan provision already imposing such a requirement. So if there is anything out there, it would be a statute or ordinance (the difference being, I presume, whether it was enacted by a legislature or a town/city board).

I recall having seen at least one such statute in the past (applicable to public plans in the state of Georgia, I believe), but I am not sure if that is still in effect.

Always check with your actuary first!

Please advise if you are familiar with any state or local law that imposes pension funding requirements on a state or city and the basis for the requirement (e.g. statute, ordinance, or case law).