ira to inherited ira status-rollover possible?

Guest bkkdude

Guest bkkdude

Article v. C. further direct the Trustee to "distribute the proceeds of the settlors bank IRA to the residual trust".

my banks trust department position is "From the plain language of "proceeds", the trust document directs a cash out of the IRA be4 it is transferred to the residual trust. the bank wants after tax money to go to residual trust . end result- large tax is due now.

do you agree with the banks interpretation of the top sentance. everywhere i read from private letter rulings and on seem to permit non-spouse beneficiaries to open inherited iras thereby keeping funds under the umbrella of the ira.

please ask if you need more info. im not a professional but have a real life situation.

PS. is the banks interpretation of the phrase " ira proceeds" even applicable in the context of my situation? just their definition seems strange.

dude, it's not a text message, you can use complete sentences. My first reaction was "huh?"

But after reading it a couple of times, I'm inclined to think, no, just because the word "proceeds" is used, that doesn't direct the trustee to distribute the entire IRA immediately. "Proceeds" can be distributed over a long time, potentially. Whether that can be accomplished by passing the proceeds through to inherited IRAs is another matter; I don't know.

Ed Snyder

Article v. C. further direct the Trustee to "distribute the proceeds of the settlors bank IRA to the residual trust".

my banks trust department position is "From the plain language of "proceeds", the trust document directs a cash out of the IRA be4 it is transferred to the residual trust. the bank wants after tax money to go to residual trust . end result- large tax is due now.