Correcting a SEP with Excess Contributions

Guest bpsep

Hi everyone,

I am a small business owner and operate a SEP plan for myself and an employee. I recently switched accountants and my new accountant has discovered a problem with how my SEP has been operating for the past 8 years. The problems include:

• The previous accountant was using both my W-2 wages and my K-1 passthrough in determining my SEP contribution when he should have only been using W-2 wages. Thus my allowed SEP contributions have been computed much to high (a total of about $185K excess over 8 years).
  • The previous accountant was not taking the deduction for the SEP contributions on the corp return - the deductions were being placed on my personal return line 28.

My new accountant is suggesting that we can self correct this problem by:

• Amending my tax returns (both corp and personal) for the past 8 years to take the deduction correctly on the corp return.
  • Paying the 6% penalties for the past 8 years (compounded) on the execess contributions (and any investment income realized on those contributions).
  • Not distributing the excess contributions from the plan - but continuing to pay the 6% penalty going forward until my allowed contributions "catch up" to the excess contributions that we previously made.

While this proposed remediation seems logical to me I am somewhat concerned after reading the EPCRS procedures. I am concerned that given the dollar amounts involved and the length of time this has been occurring that this is not something that can be self corrected and that going with the VCP is both necessary and prudent. I don't want to go through the lengthy process that the new accountant is proposing without some reasonable level of assurance that I will end up with a SEP plan that is in compliance.

Does anyone have thoughts on this? Thanks!