Colonoscopy preventative care costs

Guest Benny Guy

Guest Benny Guy

I believe colonoscopy screening for patients 50 yrs and older are covered as a preventative service under PPACA. However, what about a colonoscopy screening that reveals a polyp and the polyp is removed, without patient consent, then the procedure is billed in full because it is now a surgery and not a preventative screening. Is that legit? I'm having a tough time finding the particulars of how this should be billed under PPACA.

Guest matthew222

I don't believe the removal of a polyp would fall under preventive services. While I'm not an expert when it comes to polyps, I'm assuming this individual would have gotten it removed even if he was in a position to consent?

the polyp is removed, without patient consent

Really? I'd be surprised if the consent is not in the pre-procedure paperwork that the patient signed. I recall that these papers include statements like 'if you die, it isn't our fault' and 'if we find something, we're gonna take it out' and like that.

And I'm no help otherwise, either, but in this case, I'd argue that the screening is still a screening, whose purpose is to find suspicious stuff. Removal of the polyp is a separate procedure, for which I suppose the greedy b***ds could charge you.

Was the patient advised (or did the patient have reasonable access to information to know) that the whole procedure would be regarded as a surgery, and none of it would be considered a screening, if they found and removed a polyp? Did the patient have the opportunity to choose to have any polyps that were found left in place, to decide later whether to have them removed?

This is a reminder to all of us that it is always a good idea to call the insurer to confirm in detail what's covered before you have any procedure done.

Guest matthew222