Stock Repurchase at Retirement

Guest 409A newbie

Guest 409A newbie

This question involves a private medical practice with a small number of practitioners, all of which are stockholders. As is common, the docs have stock repurchase agreemetns so that when they retire, the corporation buys their stock back. The stock price is based on book value minus debts, which I think is ok. But there's a "floor" on that formula so that the doc gets at least $100,000. I know of no reasonable valuation method that would put the stock price at anywhere close to that (it's currently in the range of $20,000-$30,000).

This situation seems to clearly implicate the basic 409A provisions. My question is whether there is an exception that might apply or, if not, how to make this sort of arrangement 409A compliant.

I'm not sure if this matters, but the docs all bought their stock for $100,000. The purchase price was paid for by salary deductions over 3 years.

I'm new to this, so....speak....slowly.....

Thanks in advance for any help or insight anyone can offer.

I am not so sure it is disquised deferred compensation. It sounds like a perfectly sensible business deal that the redemption price will be book value, but not less than the capital which the shareholder has contributed to the enterprise.

Assuming for the sake of argument it is deferred compensation, why is it not compliant with 409A?

Were the salary deductions taxed before they were used to pay the purchase price?

If yes, there was no deferral of tax (and no earnings) and therefore no 409A issue.

If no, then the tax was deferred and it would be deferred compensation. If that's the case, then it seems to me to be 409A compliant already (the $100,000 and any earnings -- which in this case is $0 -- are payable upon separation from service). In this case their lawyer should also look over their stock repurchase agreement to make sure it has the necessary 409A language.

Guest 409A newbie