small business owner needing help with 410K and SIMPLE

Guest babysilvertooth

Guest babysilvertooth

I am a small business owner with only 2 employees (out of 5), other than myself, that participate in the 401K plan. It was established with a 'financial planner' company, and the fees are heavy, as they put us in a 401K, and now Safe Harbor for 2012.

I want to change to a SIMPLE with Vanguard.

1) Do I have to open the account before Oct 1, even if we aren't able to contribute until 2013?

2) If I open an account, but don't contribute anything until 2013, is that allowed? as we will still be with the 401L plan for 2012 as we are currently funding it with Match.

3) If I terminate the 401K plan on 'december 31, 2012", can I leave the assets where they are , or do I have to transfer them to the new SIMPLE? Do I have other options for the funds in the 401K.

Thanks for the help. Being such a small business, i have been steered in the wrong direction by the financial company into 401K that have high fees, and of course he doens't want me to leave, but I it is not work the costs.

1) Do I have to open the account before Oct 1, even if we aren't able to contribute until 2013?

No, all you have to do in ensure you terminate your 401(k) plan by December 31st, 2012. A SIMPLE IRA for 2012 is not an option for you (due to the exclusive plan rule for SIMPLE IRAs). Terminating your 401(k) in 2012 will allow you to start a SIMPLE IRA in 2013. You must, then, ensure you establish your SIMPLE IRA by October 1, 2013. There "may" be a implication by terminating your 401(k) within 5 years, but this shouldn't be a major issue given your situation.

2) If I open an account, but don't contribute anything until 2013, is that allowed? as we will still be with the 401L plan for 2012 as we are currently funding it with Match.

You don't want to do that. It's too easy to just open the SIMPLE IRA when you are ready to fund.