Fiscal Year PPO vs. Calendar Year HDHP: Big Disadvantages? (My First Post)

Guest Peng

Hi - my first post.

I apologize if this isn't the right forum.

I've had a long day of internet research & phone calls after discovering $2000 of new medical charges today that I wasn't expecting for 2013.

Background:

I work as a professional engineer for a small company with 11 employees.

Our HR department & medical plans are through some other company.

Our health plans are Aetna.

In late-August every year, we have an "opt-in" to one of about eight medical benefit plans including:

*6 PPO plans (which operate Oct 1 - Sept 30)

*2 HDHP plans (which operate Jan 1 - Dec 31)

Regardless of the plan selected, it becomes effective on October 1st.

Myself & a few others have switched plans a few times... and it seems we get penalized for the switch:

Case 1: A person has a PPO plan and decides to switch to a HDHP plan.

On October 1st, the new HDHP plan starts with a deductible at $0. A person may pay $400 towards their $1000 deductible.

On January 1st, the HDHP plan year re-starts with the deductible back at $0.

Essentially, it appears that the employee had to incur a "mini-year" of three months.

This does not seem fair as the first months of most plan years will be full pay into the deductible.

Case 2: A person has a HDHP plan and decides to switch to a PPO.

On October 1st, the new PPO plan starts with a deductible at $0.

Thus, the HDHP plan only lasted 9 months... not 12.

In Case 1, a person could seemingly be paying into three plans over two calendar years. PPO for 9 months, HDHP for 3 months, HDHP for 12 months.

In Case 2, a person could seemingly be paying into two plans over one calendar year. HDHP for 9 months, PPO for 3 months.

If this logic is correct, an employee loses out every time they wish to switch between plans.

Additionally, the set-up seems to usher people towards the PPO plans (which have much higher premiums).

Questions: