Benefits claim if plan has been terminated and annuities purchased

Say a plan terminates and purchases annuities from an insurance company and later on a plan participant has begun to receive his annuity. A couple of years later on it is discovered that the participant should have received a larger pension, is there any recourse when the plan no longer exists? Anyone have any knowledge on this situation or a similar one?

I would think they can still sue the trustees of the plan. The trustees should still be covered by their insurance. Alternatively, if the employer is still around I would just try to settle it.

I'm no lawyer, but if the Plan was covered by the PBGC, then the Plan Administrator should have provided a Notice of Plan Benefits, which should have contained every piece of information used to calculate the benefit. This, along with the SPD or Plan Doc, if requested, is provided so that the participant can check their benefit calculation. It seems to me, that IF the Plan Administrator did everything they were suppose to, and the participant didn't do any checking at the time, they should be SOL.

But in this crazy attorney filled world, the courts would probably have to get involved. You may want to call an attorney friend and ask them to check for any legel precedent.

PBGC covers insolvent or underfunded plans and would not be applicable.

An employee is not expected to be able to do the calculations. That is why Actuaries etc are required by law to perform these.

Neither a Notice of Plan Benefits, an SPD nor Plan Documents have the needed info and would not help.