Purchasing Service Credits in Pension Question

Zoraster

I'm a city manager that has been working 4 years at a city with its own pension plan. I came in under a 457/401a defined contribution benefit which is fairly typical for cms. I recently renegotiated my contract that allows me to effectively participate in the pension and receive past service credits and then if I hit vesting (10 years) I transfer over my 457 balance to the pension.

My Questions:

1) How do I "buy" the past service credits? Can the City cut the pension a check directly; or can they gross up my wages and then deduct it from me on a payroll deduction; or do they need to make additional contributions to my 401a/457b equal to the purchase amount and then I purchase it as a rollover/transfer? The way my contract reads; the prior service credits are a part of my compensation.

2) If I reach vesting and rollover my 457 and/or 401a to the pension, is this done on a pretax basis?

3) Do I need to amend the plan to help facilitate the above? The pension buy in language is pretty vague, suggesting just that an employee can buy back any number of years of service with the city and up to 5 years from other governmental experience; nothing really in there about 457 rollovers or payroll deduction or anything; it just says you can do it.

Any insight or direction would be greatly appreciated.

• 2 weeks later...