Pension Actuary Fiduciary Question

Cloudy

I am an enrolled actuary and I work as a pension actuary for a financial services company that acts as a custodian for plan assets. At this company when a plan spsonor makes a deposit the financial operations department notifies the actuary that a depsoit was received and then the actuary needs to submit instructions to the financial services operations people telling them to invest the funds per the plan spsonors investment directives on file. Our company has 4 days to turn this around per the service agreement. Ignoring the fact that executing financial transactions is a poor use of our time, my concern is that because the actuary has discretion on when to invest the funds that maybe it crosses the line into having "authority or control over plan assets" and the actuary becomes a fiduciary. That may be a stretch but I am a little uncomfortable and I would like to know what others think. Thanks.  

I'm not sure I see discretion here (or authority and control).  You have no discretion over how the funds are invested, the investments are made per the sponsors investment directive.  You also have no discretion over when the funds are invested since the service agreement gives you a 4 day turnaround between deposit and investment.  That is an administrative delay, not a judgment call by the actuary.

I agree this seems like a waste of time for an actuary.  

the process was probably created by a committee - and either there was no actuary on the committee or the actuary missed the meeting the day this was decided.  So the actuary ended up with the monkey on his or her back.

I carry stuff uphill for others who get all the glory.

"...and then the actuary needs to submit instructions to the financial services operations people telling them to invest the funds per the plan sponsor's investment directives on file."