Plan-to-Plan Transfer

An employee terminates from Employer A and starts working for Employer B.  They are not related.  Both plans allow Plan-to-Plan transfers into and out of the plans. 

What is the benefit of this participant doing a Plan-to-Plan transfer instead of it just being done as a rollover?

Thanks!

There is no withholding on a direct rollover.  Or a plan-to-plan transfer.  In both cases, the money would go from one plan to another and there is no taxable distribution.  I have no experience with plan-to-plan transfers that seem to be specifically available to 403(b) Plans and am needing to know why this would be more beneficial than the rollover.  It is not easier, in this case, as the two separate options are on the same withdrawal form.  Any other ideas?

Thank you!

A plan to plan transfer is different than a direct rollover, which is why there is specific and different language in the plan document. A "transferred" benefit usually is more restricted and used in special circumstances - you almost always want to have a direct rollover.

Kenneth M. Prell, CEBS, ERPA

Vice President, BPAS Actuarial & Pension Services

kprell@bpas.com

I was assuming you were talking about a "regular" rollover, where funds are first distributedt to the participant, rather than a "direct rollover." Hence my comment about the withholding, and being easier - one less step. If you are talking about a direct rollover, then life is good.