How much will my company match?

GonGon

I am a recent college graduate and just landed my first full-time job, so am very new to understanding 401(k)'s and retirement plans. My company says that they will match "up to the first 6% of your pre-tax contributions each pay period." For example, if I contribute $100 every pay period, they will match $6?

EDIT:

The rate is as follows:

200% on the first 2% that you contribute per pay period

50% on the next 4% that you contribute per pay period

I think you are focusing on dollars when the plan defines the employer match using percent(s). Let's try a simple example:

Comp per pay period is $1,000.  You elect to defer 10% (ie, $100).  The company match should be 200% of your first 2% (ie, 200% of $20 = $40), plus 50% of your next 4% (ie, 50% of $40 = $20).  Total company match = $60.

I'm a retirement actuary. Nothing about my comments is intended or should be construed as investment, tax, legal or accounting advice. Occasionally, but not all the time, it might be reasonable to interpret my comments as actuarial or consulting advice.

And welcome to the business world, and having the smarts to ask, and even finding the web site.

If there were only more people out there that had the sense to realize saving now will make a difference, especially with a generous match like your company has! so if you can manage it, defer at least 6% and get the maximum match you can.

Congrats and good luck.