Spliting simple IRA contributions

Guest jasper

I currently have a simple IRA for my employees with a full service broker. He offers front load and back load funds and some of my employees want no load funds. Are

there any financial institutions that will let you invent in whatever you want with whoever you want? I checked at a bank and they will only take all employees or none. They also charge one percent per year of your total market value. Isn't that worse in the long run than buying a loaded fund?

• 2 weeks later...
Guest Steve Hample

First let me disqualify / qualify myself. I am a full service type broker, plus a CFP, plus an investment advisor and I have a SIMPLE in my own office for myself and my employees.

My initial response to the employee wanting a "no load" fund is: too bad. Go search for those funds on your own time and with your own money. The split which was suggested is administratively impractical. If your company had 90 employees with a $3 millon payroll then it might be worth designing a special plan. But if you were at that size you would probably not choose a SIMPLE in the first place.

A SIMPLE plan is designed to keep things SIMPLE. The full service broker probably provided the plan free of charge and spent time with the employees to answer questions at no charge. One could instead pay an hourly fee to an investment advisor to come and make such presentations and to an attorney to draw up a special split plan and submit it to the IRS for months of review, which expense and delay might cause the employer to not offer a plan at all!