Participant dies at age 81.  Was not Key or HCE.  Spouse had already died.  3 Adult Children, who are named as Contingent Beneficiaries.  Primary Beneficiary is named as Living Trust establish with the Participant's name.  Since Living Trusts are something I have zero experience with any suggestions, comments or advice on how to process this death benefit will be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

Having braved the blizzard, I take a moment to contemplate the meaning of life. Should I really be riding in such cold? Why are my goggles covered with a thin layer of ice? Will this effect coverage testing?

QPA, QKA

Interesting; I can't say I'm an expert but will offer some thoughts.

I think a living trust is generally set up to hold one's assets during their lifetime, and distribute them according to the trust at death, which sort of replaces a will.  The "big deal" is that this avoids probate; personally I think that is overhyped but I guess it depends upon the estate.

I'm not so sure a living trust is meant to accept assets after death, in which case the primary bene des would never ever be effective; that would be a curious result and probably depends on the terms of the trust.  I think you have to talk to the trustee(s) and or their attorney and ultimately have them fill out option election forms or otherwise determine if the primary is valid or not; probably get a copy of the trust even though you don't want to be interpreting it.

Ed Snyder

If the trust meets the requirements of Treas. reg. 1.401(a)(9)-4, Q&A-5, and it may, you may be able to look through to the trust's individual beneficiaries, either shortest life or, if the plan permits division of the account into separate shares, all of them. Unless you're unlucky, the beneficiaries will all be individual human beings and have unrestricted interests, otherwise your analysis is only beginning.