General question

KEB

I'm pretty new on here. It's a great resource, but I do have a question.  Does everyone work alone?  I work for a TPA and we ask our manager or other plan administrators when we have a question. It seems like no one else does that from all the questions I see.

I definitely don’t work alone.  I’ve found this to be an invaluable resource for varying viewpoints and additional expertise outside of my team.  Sometimes the questions are ones neither I nor my team has seen and it is typically one someone or multiple individuals have experienced on this board.  I’m learning something new most days from the experts on this board and I have been doing this for awhile 

I work as the solitary HR person for a 100 employee nonprofit.  Before that i worked for a 100 person property management company also solitary HR.  In both instances I have been a plan administrator without anyone other than the investment advisor or TPA to ask questions of beyond this Board (and other HR forums).  However, I also worked 7 1/2 years for one of the top three Global HR consulting firms in 401k recordkeeping back in the 1990s.  

And part of it will depend on how good a TPA or investment advisor is and we don't always have the ability to make a change!

No, I don't work alone. We have 80 employees, including 6 enrolled actuaries and some of the most experienced people I've ever had the privilege to work with.

But I still like getting others input on my questions and seeing different perspectives on questions we may have never run across.

In addition, this (to me) is the updated reincarnation of the old PIX message board. I learned lessons there and made lifelong friends. It's nice to be able to continue that.

William C. Presson, ERPA, QPA, QKA
bill.presson@gmail.com
C 205.994.4070