Pooled plan sued for declaring special val

https://www.napa-net.org/news-info/daily-news/401k-plan-sued-covid-19-related-missteps

I don't think the participants can win this but if you've been sued you lost.  Monday morning quarterbacking it, they communicated poorly (I'm not a lawyer but it seems that some of those communications might have left them exposed), and totally dropped the ball on moving assets to cash when they KNEW these distributions were pending.  

Ed Snyder

This is interesting.  As an aside the ESOP world is full of talk should ESOPs get an interim stock value in the summer of 2020.  The same dynamic is going on.  The 12/31/2019 value can't reflect any of the events in 2020.  So is a new stock price which will be used to make the payments in 2020 a better price.  I have ESOP clients who if they do this the savings could be in the millions of dollars.   But the same kind of issue comes up in my mind.  There never is a push to do this when times are good only when bad. 

It will be interesting to see if the court makes note they specifically refused to do a special allocation date in 2019 when the market was up but did it when it was down.  

Thanks for sharing.  

On 6/19/2020 at 3:14 PM, RatherBeGolfing said:

So many issues beyond the actual special val if we take plaintiffs allegations at face value...

Exactly.  There is absolutely positively nothing wrong with doing a special val.  But when you repeatedly say "you'll get your 12/31/19 account value," that causes a problem, or at the very least a perception of a problem.  All easily avoidable by anticipating this known event and setting aside cash.  Again, not a lawyer, but I'm familiar with the phrase "bad facts make bad law" (or something like that) and the facts here could lead to the perception that you can't do a special val.

Ed Snyder

2 minutes ago, Bird said: