Cafeteria Plan & opting out of medical

Nubee

Hi all, I'm new to this world, so please bear with me.  I'm hoping I can get insight from this Board regarding the following scenario:

Large government employer (~550 employees) currently offers a cafeteria plan which employees can use to pay premiums for medical, dental, life, and to make contributions to FSA and HSA.  Employees must elect one of the medical policies offered, but otherwise they can take the rest as cash if they make no other elections/contributions.

Employer is considering allowing employees to opt out of medical coverage if they can show that they are covered under their spouse's medical.  This would mean that employees may get all the cash from the cafeteria plan if they make no elections/contributions.

Depending on which union the employee belongs to, the employee will have a different total cap on his/her cafeteria plan.

What issues do you see?  

20 minutes ago, Nubee said:

Hi all, I'm new to this world, so please bear with me.  I'm hoping I can get insight from this Board regarding the following scenario:

Large government employer (~550 employees) currently offers a cafeteria plan which employees can use to pay premiums for medical, dental, life, and to make contributions to FSA and HSA.  Employees must elect one of the medical policies offered, but otherwise they can take the rest as cash if they make no other elections/contributions.

Employer is considering allowing employees to opt out of medical coverage if they can show that they are covered under their spouse's medical.  This would mean that employees may get all the cash from the cafeteria plan if they make no elections/contributions.

Depending on which union the employee belongs to, the employee will have a different total cap on his/her cafeteria plan.

What issues do you see?  

No issues.  This is a strategy used by many employers.