Prevailing Wage Plan

Hello,

I hope this post finds everyone happy and healthy. I'm relatively new to prevailing wage plans, so I have a few questions. My understanding is that a prevailing wage contribution is treated as a non-elective contribution, so it's included in the gateway and it counts towards top heavy. In this particular situation, the prevailing wage contribution has no eligibility or allocation requirements and it's immediately and fully vested. The ADP test is failing, so to what extent, if any, can the prevailing wage contribution be treated as a QNEC and be included in the ADP test? Can an immediately fully vested prevailing wage contribution be treated as a safe harbor non-elective contribution and, if so, can this be done operationally or does it need to be stated in the plan document?

Well, instead of the usual 5% cap for bottom-up QNEC purposes, Davis-Bacon amounts can be used up to 10% before the "representative rate" rule kicks in.

You can use the prevailing wage amounts as safe harbor, if indicated in the document.  Just obviously, if they're not 3% of pay for someone, then the employer would need to top them off.

I presume that second question was theoretical, since you're running an ADP test.

QNECS are subject to both 100% vesting and the distribution restrictions of Regulation 1.401(k)-1(d).   To amplify Bri's response, the PW contributions also would need to be subject to the distribution restrictions in order to be treated as a QNEC (or as an ADP safe harbor contribution).  That is why there is typically a specific election when drafting a document to treat such contributions as a QNEC (which would generally include treating them as an ADP safe harbor contribution).