8955-ssa related

Hi

I am no expert on 8955-SSA but was having a discussion with a TPA.

Whenever there is a termination of a participant and the participant is not paid out by the end of the plan year following termination, I file 8955-SSA, regardless of plan type. I have always known this way.

The discussion is about the "deferred benefit" which the TPA stated that is only applicable when the benefit/account balance is not due till NRA i.e. plan does not pay benefits till NRA.

Also, TPA stated that if only a 401k/safe harbor plan, does not need to file 8955-SSA (all benefits are 100% vested at all time). Is this correct per instructions "Plan administrators of plans subject to the vesting standards of section 203 of ERISA must file Form 8955-SSA."?

Are there any situations where 8955-SSA is not required to be filed for any qualified DC and/or DB plans? Let's leave 403b plans out and this is a question for DC or DB plans. Terminated participants may have partial or full vested benefits.

Does it matter if the DC plan is a money purchase plan or a profit sharing plan where the normal form is J&S?

What am I missing here?

Thank you

2 hours ago, Jakyasar said:

Also, TPA stated that if only a 401k/safe harbor plan, does not need to file 8955-SSA (all benefits are 100% vested at all time). Is this correct per instructions "Plan administrators of plans subject to the vesting standards of section 203 of ERISA must file Form 8955-SSA."?

Is the claim here that a plan is not subject to the vesting standards of ERISA as long as all contributions under the plan are 100% vested? Isn't that a little like saying that I'm not subject to laws against murder because I've never killed anyone?

• Like 2