Subscribe Now!
Free Daily News, Jobs, Webcasts, Discussions
Display and Distribute
Your Job Openings
COVID-19 News
COVID-19 Webcasts

Featured Jobs

Distribution Specialist

Carpenter Morse Group
(Telecommute / Longwood FL)

Carpenter Morse Group logo

Qualified Plan Administrator

Clark Schaefer Hackett
(Cincinnati OH / Miamisburg OH / Columbus OH)

Clark Schaefer Hackett logo

Retirement Plan Consultant

(Telecommute / Dallas TX / University Place WA / Spring TX)

Definiti logo

Free Daily News and Jobs

“BenefitsLink continues to be the most valuable resource we have at the firm.”

-- An attorney subscriber

Mobile App image LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon
Facebook icon

By Date   |   By Company Name

View More Press Releases by Society of Actuaries

Press release:

Society of Actuaries Names 2020-2021 James C. Hickman Scholars

Issued by: Society of Actuaries

Date: Sept. 15, 2020

Schaumburg, IL (September 16, 2020) – The Society of Actuaries (SOA) congratulate this year’s SOA James C. Hickman Scholars, which includes three new recipients and nine others who will have their stipends renewed. The program provides stipends to doctoral students who will, through their studies, address research and education needs of the profession, including both the theoretical and practical aspects. The new Hickman Scholars for this year include Hong Beng Lim from the University of Iowa and two recipients from the University of Waterloo; Wenyuan Li and Yechao Meng. Each will receive a $20,000 stipend for the 2020—2021 academic year.

The Hickman Scholars program helps to increase the number of academic actuaries who hold a Ph.D. and an actuarial designation. The recipients were chosen from a significant number of highly qualified applicants entering or currently in doctoral programs in actuarial science or a related field in the United States and Canada. Recipients include those who are pursuing or have already attained an actuarial designation, either associate (ASA) or fellow (FSA). 

The program was established by the SOA Board of Directors and named in honor of James C. Hickman, FSA, a former dean of the University of Wisconsin–Madison School of Business. Hickman helped support the advancement of the actuarial profession during his 40 years as an academic.

Nine Hickman Scholars had their stipends renewed for the 2020—2021 academic year:

  • Ahmed Ahmed, FSA (University of Chicago)
  • Jean-Thomas Baillargeon, FSA, CERA, FCIA (Université Laval)
  • Roba Bairakdar, ASA (Concordia University)
  • Nicholas Beck (McGill University)
  • Ou Dang, FSA, FCIA (University of Waterloo)
  • Lisa Gao, ASA (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Banghee So, ASA (University of Connecticut)
  • Gabrielle Trudeau (HEC Montréal)
  • Abylay Zhexembay (University of Iowa)

View More Press Releases by Society of Actuaries

This is a press release issued by the company named above. BenefitsLink is not the author. Use of any information obtained from this release is voluntary, and reliance on it should only be undertaken after an independent review of its accuracy, completeness, efficacy, and timeliness. Reference to any specific commercial product, process, or service by trade name, trademark, service mark, manufacturer, or otherwise does not constitute or imply endorsement, recommendation, or favoring by BenefitsLink.

© 2020, Inc.