Typical QDRO Procedure - MSA?

Question for all of you that work with QDRO's more frequently than I do: I am an associate attorney, and at a previous firm, I did a fair amount of QDRO review for employer - basically I advised whether the submitted DRO's (sometimes in draft form, sometimes already signed by the court) were "qualified." On occasion, I also assisted a divorce attorney in drafting DROs (or reviewing them) for divorcing clients. It is my memory that, when working for the divorcing party, I always reviewed the Marital Settlement Agreement (MSA) or divorce decree, to ensure that the QDRO reflected the correct division of retirement assets. However, I don't recall regularly seeing (or requesting) the MSA when doing QDRO review for the Plan Administrator/Employer.

Now I'm at a new firm, and there is more QDRO work now coming my way from two Plan Administrator clients. My supervising attorney here says that it has always been his practice to request the MSA as part of the QDRO review for Plan Administrator clients.

My thinking is that the divorcing party's attorney has the responsibility to ensure that the DRO, as drafted, comports with the MSA, and that the Plan Administrator's review is more properly limited to the extent that the QDRO satisfies the requirements of 414(p) and comports with permissible payment terms under the relevant plan.

My boss, on the other hand, says that the Plan Administrator is responsible for administering the Plan, and that this INCLUDES being sure that the QDRO, as drafted, comports with the MSA.

Seems to me that it may be tricky to always request an MSA copy, especially in the case of proposed versions of QDROs.

Any thoughts out there? Is his preference to ALWAYS see a copy of the MSA quite usual and reasonable? It seems to me to go a little too far, but I'm willing to be corrected.