Reality Check - Attempt to Amend QDRO

As an attorney, I assist a plan administrator in determing whether DROs are qualified.

I'm about to 'reject' a proposed Order that purports to amend a QDRO accepted in 2000.

In 2000, at the time of divorce, the ex-wife/Alternate Payee expressly waived (in the QDRO) any interest in the pension, but did take in interest in the 401(k) Plan.

Now, 6 years, later, participant's Pension is in pay status already, and ex-wife has submitted a proposed amending order seeking a 100% INTEREST IN THE VALUE OF HIS PENSION AS OF THE DATE OF HIS RETIREMENT.

Since he's already in pay status, I'm planning to reject on the basis of the Order requesting benefits not available under the plan. (Some of his pension has already been paid to him, so she can't get "100% at this point).

This feels funny in other ways, though. He's now in a nursing home. His two kids' names are on the order as his "agent" (but her attorney drafted the amending order.).

Plan is inclined not to accept any amending order, even if they refine it to a permissible benefit.

This is under Pennsylvania state law.

Any ideas on the kind of documentation, etc. Plan Administrator could say it would require before considering approving such a request?

Thanks for any insights.

In the meantime, sorry, Alternate Payee. This one's a no go.

Q1- What is the authority under state law for the AP to request a modification of the QDRO that was agreed to 6 yrs ago? Usually a QDRO is a final agreement of the parties as to how pension assets are divided and unless the court retains jurisdiction to revise the QDRO after the divorce it is a final order which cannot be changed. In other words what authority is there to change the terms of the QDRO that were entered into 6 yrs ago to give her both penson benefits of her ex?