Present Value

I am an attorney in Green Bay, WI with a small practice drafting QDROs for divorce attorneys. I have run across an interesting situation. Company A's DB plan was frozen effective 10/01/01 when the company was purchased by even larger Company B. The participant/husband  didn't disclose the frozen DB plan during the divorce proceedings (maybe he forgot). I discovered it when requesting documents from Company B for other Company B plans that he participated in.

The frozen payment is only $211.99 beginning at age 65. I haven't been able to get a copy of this particular plan document, but it appears that there is no provision for a lump sum payment. I'm proposing to determine present value of the future stream of payments and settle with non-plan assets. 

To determine present value, I used the Social Security Actuarial Life Table to determine that the participant at 53 has 27.5 years left. Accordingly, the $211.99 per month beginning at age 65 will be paid for 186 months until death at 80.5. Using an annual discount rate of 7.5%, that provides a current value of $9,520.78. I recognize that I'm using an ax and not a scalpel, but does this make sense? Also, is 7.5% a reasonable annual discount rate? Thanks for any advice!

Well..... that is a way to do it, not the preferred actuarially correct method.  But you are in the ball-park.

IMHO, the 7.5% rate is not reasonable, but it might be acceptable to the negotiation, and is certainly favorable to the husband.

BTW, several of the actuaries who contribute to these message boards can provide a detailed service.

I'm a retirement actuary. Nothing about my comments is intended or should be construed as investment, tax, legal or accounting advice. Occasionally, but not all the time, it might be reasonable to interpret my comments as actuarial or consulting advice.

Last time I looked, it was actuaries and not attorneys who would, subject to applicable standards of practice, perform calculations of that sort.