Does "interest" in QDRO language include losses?

A QDRO assigns an Alternate Payee a dollar amount "plus interest on that amount." Should "interest" be interpreted to include losses? How should "interest" be interpreted?

Does the "segregated amounts" requirement mean only that the plan must be able to separately account for the segregated amount? Or does this requirement mean that the dollar amount specifiec above should by physically separated from other assets? If it has to be physically separated, are there requirements on how the segregated amount should be invested?

Is there guidance on these issues in the law, from the DOL, and/or from court cases?

Thanks!

I can't provide a reference to case law or regs, etc. But I can give you my perspective.

Unless there is specific language in the document that says that the alternate payee is entitled to $X as of (say) the date of dissolution, plus y% from date of dissolution to date of distribution, then as a plan administrator, I would interpret interest as investment gains and losses. And if it does define interest, I would obviously view only the ultimate amount as relevant to the process.

And segregated amounts means that you separate the alternate payee's funds from the particpant's funds in the same way that you separate participant A's funds from participant B's funds. So if the funds are invested in collective funds and the recordkeeper does the allocations, and no shares have individual ownership, then that's what happens with the alternate payee. If on the other hand the only option is individual brokerage accounts, then you'd have to set one up for the alternate payee.

Not so fast.

If the plan is a DC plan, I would agree that "interest" probably refers to investment earnings, whether positive or negative, but it might not, so getting input from QDRO drafter might be appropriate.

If the plan is a DB plan, it seems likely that "interest" does not refer to investment earnings.